Ibiza Island

June 11, 2011 by · Leave a Comment 

Ibiza Island is situated to the east of the Iberian mainland in the Mediterranean sea and forms part of the Autonomous Province of the Balearic Islands. Its administrative organization comprises five municipalities: Ibiza, which is the capital; Santa Eularia des Riu, Sant Antoni de Portmany, Sant Josep de Sa Talaia and Sant Joan de Labritja. Each of them offers the visitor possibilities that are different and complementary at the same time.

According to the last census in 2007, the population exceeds 117,000 persons, although the number of residents goes up considerably during the summer months. Ibiza, along with Formentera, makes up the Pitiusan islands.

Ibiza Coast

Ibiza Coast

With a surface area of 572 km2, Ibiza offers 210 kilometres of beaches that can be enjoyed at anytime of the year thanks to its mild temperatures and to its 2,948 hours of sun per year. The temperature is mild from January to December and the island offers magical moments during the whole year. The blossoming of the almond trees, a moment in which the fields of Ibiza turn white can only be contemplated in January and February. The same thing occurs with the blooming of the wild flowers in the spring, the refreshing sensation that is produced by going for a swim at the beach in August or the pleasure you get from eating fresh fish under the January sun on a terrace next to the sea.

What is more, Ibiza acts as a magnet for creators from all over the world who find in the island the freedom, the space and the stimulus to give form to their projects. The attraction of Ibiza is so great that many who come here to spend a short holiday have ended up staying for ever.

About Spain vacations

Comments are closed.